Here it goes directly to OroVerde:  www.regenwald-schuetzen.org

Trees mean the future, trees mean life - because every single tree absorbs several tons of carbon dioxide in the course of its life and thus plays an important role in global climate protection. With their canopy and roots, they prevent erosion and are also an important reservoir of water. At the same time, the tropical rainforests are an important habitat: 2/3 of all animal and plant species worldwide can be found here. Cleared areas are reforested with native trees so that the forest can recover as an important water reservoir, climate regulator and habitat for numerous species.



Plant4Planet supports the reforestation programs of OroVerde, e.g. in Guatemala, Mexico or the Dominican Republic. With your purchase, OroVerde can finance the seedling. The project also includes the establishment and operation of tree nurseries, the acquisition of tree saplings and of course the planting activities and also the care of the young trees (this is made possible by other donations).

Working hand in hand with the local people is particularly important for the success of reforestation: after all, around a quarter of the people living on earth are directly or indirectly dependent on the forest. In the tropics, poverty is a driving factor in deforestation. As part of the reforestation programs, people recognize and experience the value of their forest as a livelihood. Through the forest-friendly cultivation of coffee, cocoa and fruit trees in so-called Agroforestry systems creates OroVerde sustainable and forest-friendly sources of income and helps people with food security. The saplings also grow in the tree nurseries and are planted in species-rich mixed cultures with native rainforest trees. This creates a “forest garden” on the edge of the old rainforest, which protects it and at the same time becomes a habitat for numerous animals and plants.

  © OroVerde / T.Klimpel

The communities take part in the planting campaigns and take care of the young trees in the tree nurseries and on the planting areas. Because until the seedlings themselves are big enough, they have to be checked regularly for the first two years and cut free of overgrown grass. That means regular excursions to the agroforestry plots and the reforestation areas in mountain regions that are often difficult to access, mostly on foot. This is how OroVerde ensures that the seedlings that could be financed with your purchase also grow into strong trees "

Background information about OroVerde:

OroVerde - Translated from Spanish, it means "green gold". The tropical rainforests are meant. They extend as a green, living ribbon along the equator. For over 30 years OroVerde for the protection of this special treasure: OroVerde develops, finances and tests innovative tropical forest protection projects in Asia, Central and South America. OroVerde combines tropical forest protection with development aid, which is exactly what makes their work so successful. Because poverty is one of the most important drivers of forest destruction. Forest together with the local people OroVerde Raising the rainforest, establishing protected areas and developing alternative sources of income that are gentle on the forest. Also in Europe is OroVerde active: Environmental education in schools and consumer information raise awareness of the connections between consumption and the rainforest. OroVerde handles your donations responsibly: As one of the first environmental organizations in Germany to contribute OroVerde since 2015 the DZI donation seal.

Support other projects and help to preserve the rainforest in all its abundance and splendor!
More information about the Tree by tree - project on www.regenwald-schuetzen.org

Hier geht es direkt zu OroVerde:  www.regenwald-schuetzen.org

Bäume bedeuten Zukunft, Bäume bedeuten Leben - denn jeder einzelne Baum nimmt im Laufe seines Lebens mehrere Tonnen Kohlendioxid auf und spielt so eine bedeutende Rolle im globalen Klimaschutz. Mit ihrem Blätterdach und den Wurzeln verhindern sie Erosion und sind zugleich ein bedeutender Wasserspeicher. Zugleich sind die tropischen Regenwälder ein wichtiger Lebensraum: 2/3 aller Tier- und Pflanzenarten weltweit finden sich hier. Mit einheimischen Bäumen werden gerodete Flächen aufgeforstet, so dass sich der Wald als wichtiger Wasserspeicher, Klimaregulator und Lebensraum zahlreicher Arten erholen kann.



Plant4Planet unterstützt die Aufforstungsprogramme von OroVerde, z.B. in Guatemala, Mexiko oder der Dominikanischen Republik. Durch deinen Einkauf kann OroVerde den Setzling finanzieren. Das Projekt beinhaltet ansonsten den Aufbau und Betrieb von Baumschulen, die Anschaffung von Baumsetzlinge und natürlich die Auspflanzaktionen und auch die Pflege der jungen Bäumchen (dies wird durch andere Spenden ermöglicht).

Hand in Hand mit den Menschen vor Ort zu arbeiten, ist besonders wichtig für den Erfolg der Wiederaufforstung: Denn etwa ein Viertel der auf der Erde lebenden Menschen hängt direkt oder indirekt vom Wald ab. In den Tropen ist die Armut ein treibender Faktor der Entwaldung. Im Rahmen der Wiederaufforstungsprogramme erkennen und erleben die Menschen den Wert ihres Waldes als Lebensgrundlage. Durch den waldschonenden Anbau von Kaffee-, Kakao- und Fruchtbäumen in sogenannten Agroforstsystemen schafft OroVerde nachhaltige und waldschonende Einkommensquellen und hilft den Menschen bei der Ernährungssicherung. Auch die Setzlinge wachsen in den Baumschulen heran und werden in artenreichen Mischkulturen mit einheimischen Regenwaldbäumen ausgepflanzt. So entsteht ein „Waldgarten“ am Rande des alten Regenwaldes, der diesen schützt und zugleich Lebensraum für zahlreiche Tiere und Pflanzen wird.

  © OroVerde/T.Klimpel

Die Gemeinden beteiligen sich an den Pflanzaktionen und übernehmen die Pflege der jungen Bäumchen in den Baumschulen und auf den Pflanzflächen. Denn bis die Setzlinge selbst groß genug sind, müssen sie in den ersten zwei Jahren regelmäßig kontrolliert und von überwucherndem Gras freigeschnitten werden. Das bedeutet regelmäßige Exkursionen zu den Agroforstparzellen und den Wiederaufforstungsflächen in oft schwer zugänglichen Bergregionen, meist zu Fuß. So stellt OroVerde sicher, dass die Setzlinge, die mit deinem Einkauf finanziert werden konnten, auch zu starken Bäume heranwachsen"

Hintergrundinfos über OroVerde:

OroVerde - aus dem Spanischen übersetzt bedeutet das „Grünes Gold“. Gemeint sind die tropischen Regenwälder. Sie erstrecken sich als grünes, lebendiges Band entlang des Äquators. Seit über 30 Jahren setzt sich OroVerde für den Schutz dieses besonderen Schatzes ein: OroVerde entwickelt, finanziert und erprobt innovative Tropenwald-Schutzprojekte in Asien, Mittel- und Südamerika. OroVerde kombiniert Tropenwaldschutz mit Entwicklungshilfe, genau das macht ihre Arbeit so erfolgreich. Denn Armut ist einer der wichtigsten Treiber der Waldzerstörung. Gemeinsam mit den Menschen vor Ort forstet OroVerde Regenwald auf, richtet Schutzgebiete ein und entwickelt alternative und waldschonende Einkommensquellen. Auch in Europa ist OroVerde aktiv: Umweltbildung in Schulen und Verbraucherinformationen schärfen das Bewusstsein für die Zusammenhänge zwischen Konsum und Regenwald. OroVerde geht verantwortungsvoll mit Ihren Spenden um: Als eine der ersten Umweltorganisationen in Deutschland trägt OroVerde seit 2015 das DZI-Spendensiegel.

Unterstütze auch andere Projekte und hilf so den Regenwald in all seiner Fülle und Pracht zu erhalten!
Mehr Informationen zu dem Baum für Baum - Projekt auf www.regenwald-schuetzen.org